SWCG
          LogoThe Southwest Costumers Guild

is a loose and informal educational society of persons interested in all facets of historical, cultural, science fiction, fantasy, and humor costume. Members are often seen on stage and behind the scenes at Science Fiction Convention masquerades, historical reenactment events, and theatre. SWCG is central Arizona's chapter of the International Costume Guild.




Index
Newsletter
Upcoming Events
SWCG Activities
Meet the Guildsters - Mail Links and links to Member Web Pages
Links - Web Sites of Interest to the Costumer

Hints and other "How To" Articles

Join the Southwest Costumers Guild - Printable membership form

Recruiting and PR Materials:

"Victorian Ball" Foldover Flyer
"Science Fiction Convention" Foldover Flyer
"Renaissance Faire" Foldover Flyer
Quarter-Page Flyer
Color Bookmark (Newly Updated)

SWCG Bylaws

Southwest Costumers Guild has a "Yahoo Groups" e-mail discussion forum. Contact the webmaster for information on how to join.


Cactus Needles Logo

SWCG members in good standing  receive Cactus Needles, our monthly newsletter, by mail or e-mail.
Regular contributors and newsletter editors from ICG chapters and allied organizations also receive Cactus Needles.
Not getting your newsletter? Contact the Editor to make sure he has your current address.

A few weeks after its initial publication, we post Cactus Needles to this web site for all to enjoy.

Current Issue - October 2017

Back Issues
(All the way back to the Cactus Needles premiere in 1994)

Creative Commons
          License

Cactus Needles
is released under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License. Please print the newsletter and give it to your friends, but print the entire newsletter and don't make any changes or charge any money. Go to www.creativecommons.org to view the license. Individual articles and pictures belong to their authors. If you'd like to reprint an individual article or picture, please contact the Editor for appropriate permission.

Upcoming Activities

Usually, the Southwest Costumers Guild meets on the first Sunday of each month at a different member's home in the greater Phoenix area. This rule of thumb is often changed to avoid schedule conflict with other events. Guild business is followed by a demonstration or workshop by a guild member or an invited guest. Sometimes we cooperate on a costume project. Sometimes we just socialize. Special SWCG gatherings are sometimes held at science fiction conventions, street fairs, and other public events. E-mail the Webmaster for directions to meetings and events.

Here are some upcoming guild meetings and costume-related public events. E-mail the Webmaster if you know an event that should be on the calendar. A more detailed calendar is included in Cactus Needles.

* Red Text indicates an SWCG activity. Unless otherwise noted, SWCG Meetings begin at 1:00 PM.

October 17, 2017, 7 PM - CASFS Book & Media Social at Denny's 9030 N. Black Canyon Highway, Phoenix (NWC I-17 and Dunlap Road).

This month's book is A Scandal in Bohemia by Arthur Conan Doyle

First-published Sherlock Holmes story. This is meant to be a broad discussion of Sherlock and his many incarnations in print, stage and screen. Look for public domain copies on Librivox and Gutenberg project, as well as you public library.


November 3-5, 2017 - Tucson Comic Con at Tucson Convention Center, 260 S. Church Avenue, Tucson AZ http://www.tucsoncomic-con.com/


November 10-12, 2017 - TusCon - SF Convention at the Radison Hotel Tucson Airport in Tuscon, AZ - http://www.tusconscificon.com/


November 10-12, 2017, 10am-4pm Tucson  Quilt Craft and Sewing Festival at Tucson Expo Center 3750 E Irvington Road.  Free parking

November 11-12, 2017 - Phoenix Fanfest at Phoenix Convention Center. https://myfanfest.com/phoenix/?utm_source=Comicon%20Newsletter%20Subscribers&utm_campaign=cec7c44470-EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_2017_07_14&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_26f1b7124d-cec7c44470-48804965&ct=t%28MNFF17_Newsletter_7_20_2017%29


November 17-19, 2017 - Arizona Fur Con at Scottsdale Resort, 7700 E. McCormick, Scottsdale AZ http://www.arizonafurcon.com/

November 21, 2017, 7 PM - CASFS Book & Media Social at Denny's 9030 N. Black Canyon Highway, Phoenix (NWC I-17 and Dunlap Road).

This month's book is The Moon Is a Harsh Mistress by Robert A. Heinlein

One of the master's Hugo winners. Revolution in Luna City.


December, 2017 (Date and Time TBA) - Glitter Walk* SWCG social. Meet for an early supper at a downtown Glendale restaurant, then walk the Glendale Glitters street festival.


December 9, 2017 - LibCon West at the Glendale Public Library, 59th Avenue & Brown. One day family friendly SF/Fantasy/Anime/Pop culture festival hosted by the Glendale Public Library. http://libconwest.weebly.com/

December 19, 2017, 7 PM - CASFS Book & Media Social at Denny's 9030 N. Black Canyon Highway, Phoenix (NWC I-17 and Dunlap Road).

This month's book is Hogfather by Terry Pratchett

The Hogfather, spirit of the Discworld's favorite holiday is missing. Can Death and his granddaughter fill in? Check out the excellent 2006 two-part film.

January 13-15, 2018 - Ace Comic Con at Gila River Arena in Glendale, Arizona. Tix at http://gilariverarena.box-officetickets.com/az/glendale/gila-river-arena-tickets/ace-comic-con/v-3005/p-65646?&gclid=CjwKEAjwpMLOBRC9mb-H_c6q4VISJAD4hnmQfv17vpy0p52WNvRZ6iGnx0OwjGmSYq88UirvClrn9hoC55zw_wcB


January 27, 2018 - Tempe Library Con at Tempe Public Library (SWC Rural Road and Southern Avenue).
The Library Comicon is an annual event featuring costume contests, artists & authors, shopping, and activities for children and adults alike.  Fans of Marvel, DC, Star Wars, Dr. Who, Star Trek and more are invited to gather at the Tempe Public Library in costume for a celebration of pop culture. http://www.tempe.gov/city-hall/community-services/tempe-public-library/special-events/library-comicon

March 23-24, 2018 - Gila Valley Comic Con in Safford, Arizona. "Celebrate the love of comics and anime at the inaugural Gila Valley Comic-Con, presented by Eastern Arizona Courier! Gila Valley Comic-Con will take place in the activities center of Eastern Arizona College. The convention will feature comic book, art and collectible vendors; cosplay contest; trivia contest; art contest; electronic and table-top gaming; discussions and seminars; and more! Admission is just $5!"

https://www.facebook.com/GilaValleyComicCon/


May 11-14, 2018 Costume-Con 36 in San Diego, California
  http://cc36sandiego.org/


March 22-25, 2019 - Costume-Con 37 at the Doubletree Boston North Shore hotel in Danvers, Massachussetts.


Return to Index






Here is some of our events information in the form of a Google calendar created by Margie:



Guild Activities

SWCG hosted Costume-Con 30 on May 11-14, 2012 at the Tempe Mission Palms Hotel. Click the link to see some pictures from the "Sick Pups" archive.

At Tempe Library ComiCon in
          2016

Tasha at Tempe Library ComiCon in 2016

SWCG at Steampunk:
          An Exquisite Adventure
At Steampunk: An Exquisite Adventure in November, 2013.

Jean & Randall at Steampunk Street
          II
Randall & Jean at Steampunk Street II in downtown Mesa, April, 2011.



We had a fine turnout for our Barbecue Mixer in April, 2009, with folks from SWCG, Sunacosu,
CASFS,
Arizona Ghostbusters and The Rebel Legion. Photo by Mike Contos.



At the Arizona Renaissance Festival, February 2008.


Walking about the Glendale Glitters street fair in December, 2007.

A Duct Tape Mannequin is a useful tool for patterning custom-fitted garments.

Mucking about in Victorian attire at CopperCon 25. A little image magic by Mike Cassidy shifts us to a more appropriate setting - a table setting.


Meet the Guildsters - Mail Links and Web Pages

Click on the highlighted text to send an e-mail message or visit a personal web page.

President Mahala Sweebe
(president@southwestcostumersguild.org) .

Vice President Sharan Hoyle
(vicepresident@southwestcostumersguild.org)

Treasurer and Newsletter Editor Tasha Cady
(Treasurer@southwestcostumersguild.org)

Secretary Sharan Hoyle
(Secretary@southwestcostumersguild.org)

Archivist Jean Palmer
(archivist@southwestcostumersguild.org)

Webmaster Randall Whitlock runs MoiRandall's featuring his "Randwulf's" line of sewing patterns.
webmaster@southwestcostumersguild.org).

Member Anna Caggiano shows how she built her Galadriel gown at www.fivemilecreek.net/anna/anna.htm.

Check out member Nola Yergen's theatrical and film costumes at http://designbynola.com/  or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Design-By-Nola/128444573852616
Check out Nola's YouTube channel, "CostumeTrek." https://www.youtube.com/results?q=costumetrek+channel&sp=UBQ%253D

Last updated October 14, 2017 by Randall Whitlock.

Return to Index